We are excited to present the 31st Annual LA Stage Alliance Ovation Awards.


This year will look a little different from past Ovations to ensure the safety and health of our LA Theatre Community. In line with CDC guidelines and government orders, we will be presenting, for the first time ever, the Ovation Awards through stream!

We will be providing regular updates here and on our Social Media, so subscribe, follow, and check in for the latest on the 31st Annual LA Stage Alliance Ovation Awards!

Host Announcement

Celebration Theatre Artistic Director Michael A. Shepperd ha s been set to host the  31st Annual LA STAGE Alliance  the Ovation Awards Ceremony.


Michael A. Shepperd has been Artistic Director or Co-Artistic Director of Celebration Theatre since 2007. It is t he oldest continuously producing lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, inter-sexed, two-spirited, asexual, cis-gendered, gender non-binary, gender non-conforming theatre in the country. The theatre ’s production history include s The Boy from Oz (six Ovation  Awards including  Best  Director for  Shepperd and LADCC  Award for Best Director); BootyCandy (Ovation and Stage Raw Awards, Best Supporting Actor); The Color Purple (six Ovation Awards including Best Musical);The  Producers (Ovation Award nomination, Best Supporting Actor in a Musical); Four; The Women of Brewster Place (Ovation Awards, Best Production and Ensemble); Take Me Out, Coffee Will Make You Black, [title  of  show], and many others. Broadway, off-Broadway, and regional  acting  credits  include Peter  Pan   starring Cathy Rigby; Little Shop of Horrors; Caroline, or Change; Five Guys Named Moe; Fences (Ovation Award nomination, Lead Actor in  a Play); Choir Boy; Smokey Joe’s Café; and The Whipping Man. Television credits include Bosch, Why Women Kill, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Hot in Cleveland, Wizards of Waverly Place, Monk, Criminal Minds, and NCIS.

Date & Time

Final Countdown! With less than a month to go, we can't wait to see you at the show. Come join in celebrating the 31st Annual Ovation Awards at 8pm on March 30, 2021! The ceremony will be broadcast at www.OvationAwards.com.

#LATheatre #Hope #Inspiration #OvationAwards #31

Nominee Announcement

During the 2019–2020 voting season, 137 productions were registered for awards consideration by 36 producing organizations, and 174 individual artists were evaluated. This year’s 303 voters cast a total of over 1,400 ballots. there were 40 Ovation recommended shows in the greater Los Angeles area.


The eligibility period ran from September 1, 2019 through March 31, 2020.

Congratulations to all the nominees!



Call us at 1. 213. 614. 0556. or leave us a message:

For media inquiries:


Stay Updated

Sign up to hear updates about artists, agenda, and more!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube

© 2020 by LA Stage Alliance